Riverwood Poetry Series
Riverwood Poetry logo
Comment : Off

CT Youth Poetry Slam Team


The CT National Youth Poetry Slam Team began in 1998 when Connecticut hosted the first-ever National High School Poetry Slam as a 2 day event held at the Charter Oak Cultural Center in Hartford.  Teams came from:

  • New York City,
  • Worcester,
  • Washington DC,
  • New Mexico (the Navajo Nation) and of course,
  • Connecticut.


The following year, the Connecticut team went to Albuquerque (along with 7 other teams, including San Francisco, Los Angeles and Chicago) for the 2nd Annual National High School Slam.  This festival has grown into a yearly happening known as Brave New Voices, with up to 50 teams and 5 days.

Now called OneWord CT, we invite participation from around the state (rather than one major city, like most other teams).  Team members for 2013 include:

  • Sophie Dillon (New Haven),
  • Coree DeShields (Norwich),
  • Emily Falkowski (Manchester),
  • Olive Kuhn (Middletown) and
  • Evan Knoll (Middletown).


Content from Indiegogo